Point and line

point and line color edited
                                Dandelions, thread, fabric, 30″ x 20.5″, 2015

point and line interpretation

                                                           Watercolor pencil and ebony pencil Bristol Vellum, 11″ x 14″, 2015

When I was a little girl, my sister would always braid dandelions into my hair. When I was sixteen, she passed away. I now feel a deep connection to dandelions; they represent the memory of my sister. The muted color of the photograph represents the loss I felt, and still feel, at the loss of my sister. The placement of my arm (which the dandelions are on) is to represent how close to my heart I still hold the memory of my sister. In the drawn interpretation of this piece, I used watercolor pencil for the dandelions on my arm against a achromatic background to represent that even though my sister is gone, she is still a strong influence on me and my life.

The meaning of the work is conveyed through symbolism that is universally understood by all people; the lack of color represents loss and sadness; the flowers, a natural symbol can represent new or ongoing life; the bright colors are understood to represent vitality and strength. The use of symbolism in the work allows one to perceive it as something meaningful rather than just a pretty picture.

This entry was posted in Non-Timebased and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

